Grottini antichi

Download the smARTravel App. It will allow you to discover all the attractions thanks to the audioguide available in four languages (Italian, German, French and English).


Along the cantonal road, an area once known as Gazott (from “case di sotto” or “houses below”) is home to a traditional inn with stables, the old Cadenazzo post office, the former bakery and provisions store and a grotto.

The inn with stables was originally run by Giacomo Malè and Serafina née Beltrametti, who had inherited it. The building changed hands several times. The attached post office, where the stagecoach stopped until the advent of the railway in 1835, remained active until the 1940s. The bakery and provisions store with restaurant belonged to the Salvioni family from Bellinzona. It was taken over by Attilio Marzorati in 1914. A large vineyard and grotto nearby, now in a state of neglect, supported the business. Upstream, there is a large commemorative cross erected in memory of the Holy Missions in July 1935. Just beyond the border between Cadenazzo and Sant’Antonino is a bunker, originally used as an ammunition store.


The upstream track leading from Cadenazzo to Sant’Antonino through Via Carà and Rüscadèla passes stone structures once used to store milk, and grottoes. The best known, no longer in existence, was the Grotto Malè (later Grotto Laura). Shaded by ancient plane trees, it boasted a large garden with stone tables, a bocci court and a dancefloor. Country festivals were held here during the summer. The feast of the patron saint of Saint Peter, which fell on the third Sunday in July, was particularly popular.